How To Block Someone On Instagram
You want to block someone on Instagram so they can’t find your profile or send you DMs? Below are step-by-step instructions on how to block an account on the Instagram platform; simply read along to find out now. But first, let’s see what happens if you block an Instagram user!
What happens after you block someone on Instagram?
Here are what happens when someone is blocked on Instagram:
- They can’t send you any messages in Direct. If they try sending you a message, you won’t receive it, and even if you unblock them, the message won't be delivered to you later.
- You can’t also message someone after blocking them. Note that your messaging threads with them are still in your Direct inbox.
- They will no longer be able to tag you and mention your username.
- Likes and comments from the blocked account will be removed from your videos and photos on Instagram.
- Blocked users can still see your comments and likes on posts shared by accounts they follow or by Instagram public accounts.
Of course, people will not be notified if you block them. However, there’s still a chance that they know you’ve blocked them when they are no longer able to find your profile or posts and/or send you DMs and/or mention you.
So, if you want a more gentle solution than blocking some, you can simply restrict or mute them.
How to Block Someone on Instagram
There are different ways to block unwanted accounts on Instagram, and you can do so using the web browser or the Instagram mobile app.
If you are using the Instagram app on your device, you can block someone from your Instagram settings, from the chat with them, and from their Instagram profile.
If you are accessing the platform via a web browser, you can also block someone from a chat with them or from their profile.
Now, let’s learn how to block someone on Instagram from their Instagram profile and from a chat with them—two easy and quick methods.
Block someone from their Instagram profile
Blocking someone from their Instagram profile is simple and straightforward.
Step 1. Go to the Instagram profile of the person that you want to block.
Step 2. In the top right of the screen, tap the three-horizontal-dot icon (on iPhone or web browser) or the three-vertical-dot icon (on Android).
Step 3. If you are using Instagram on the mobile app, tap Block and then you'll have to choose between 2 options: "Block [username] and other accounts they may have or create" or "Block [username]." If you prefer blocking only that account, tap the later one. Next, tap the blue Block button.
If you are using Instagram on your desktop, select the "Block this user" option from the pop-up menu and then click Block to confirm.
That’s how to block someone on Instagram from their profile. If you want to unblock them, simply repeat the above steps and, in step 3, select "Unblock" instead.
From a chat with the person you want to block
You can also block someone from the chat with them. It’s simple, and here’s how:
Step 1. Click or tap the Direct button or the Message icon.
Step 2. Select the chat with the account you’d like to block.
Step 3. If you are using the Instagram app on Android, tap the name of that account at the top of your chat. On the next screen that appears, tap Options.
If you are accessing Instagram via a web browser, click the i icon at the top.
Step 4. Tap or click on the Block option, then click again to confirm.
That’s how to block someone from the chat. If you want to unblock them, simply repeat the above steps and, in step 4, tap or click on "Unblock" instead.